• EC Announces Bypoll In 5 Assam Seats On October 30

    The last day of filing nominations for Assam Bypoll is October 11.

    The Election Commission on Thursday announced bypoll in the remaining five assembly seats in Assam. Bhabanipur, Gossaingaon, Tamulpur, Thowra and Mariani will vote on October 30, while counting will be held on November 2, two days ahead of Diwali.

    Addressing a press conference, Nitin Khade, Chief Electoral Officer of Assam said that the last day of filing nominations is October 11 and the last day of withdrawal of nominations is October 16, a day after Dusshera.

    The voting in all the constituencies will begin at 7 am on October 30.

    From Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Phanidhar Talukdar will contest from the Bhabanipur constituency, Rupjyoti Kurmi will contest from Mariani and Sushanta Borgohain will contest from the Thowra constituency.

    On the other hand, from Congress, Jowel Tudu will contest from Gossaigaon constituency, Bhaskar Dahal from Tamulpur and Manoranjan Konwar from Thowra.

    Congress will be contesting in four constituencies and has left one seat for Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and Raijor Dal.

    Gossaigaon and Tamulpur fell vacant after the lawmakers representing them died of Covid-19. By-polls in Mariani and Thowra has been necessitated after Congress representatives resigned to join the ruling BJP.

    For more such stories, follow us on Facebook , Twitter . Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.

    Leave A Comment