• After Lakhimpur Kheri Violence Criticism, Maneka Gandhi, Varun Dropped From Top BJP Body

    Maneka Gandhi is a Lok Sabha MP from Sultanpur, while Varun Gandhi represents Pilibhit in the Lower House

    Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Maneka Gandhi, her son, Varun Gandhi have been dropped from the 80-member National Executive list. The list was released by the party's national president Jagat Prakash Nadda on Thursday.

    Maneka is a Lok Sabha MP from Sultanpur, while Varun represents Pilibhit in the Lower House.

    According to reports, the duo was dropped from the list post the Lakhimpur violence. Varun has been vocal about the policies of the Centre in the context of farm laws and the recent Lakhimpur Kheri violence.

    He also tweeted a video of the incident and demanded action against the accused.

    "The video is crystal clear. Protestors cannot be silenced through murder. There has to be accountability for the innocent blood of farmers that has been spilled and justice must be delivered before a message of arrogance and cruelty enters the minds of every farmer," he said in one of the tweets.

    Meanwhile, the BJP executive list has the names of top brass leaders, ranging from Prime Minister Narendra Modi to various Union Ministers, State leaders and veterans LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi.

    Besides 80 regular members, the executive will also have 50 special invitees and 179 permanent invitees. 

    The executive is a key deliberative body of the party which meets to discuss key issues facing the government and shapes the organisation's agenda. The disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic has prevented its meeting for a long time.

    Many Union Ministers, including Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, are expectedly on the list with recently inducted minister Ashwini Vaishnaw also being included. Former Union ministers like Harsh Vardhan, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar also remain members of the national executive.

    The National Executive sets the overall strategic direction of the party and policy development. It is composed of members appointed by the BJP president. 
    For more such stories, follow us on Facebook , Twitter . Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.

    Leave A Comment