• BSF Gets Increased Powers In 3 Border States

    The home ministry issued the latest notification on Monday.

    Border Security Force (BSF) will now have the power to arrest, search, and seizure to the extent of 50 km inside three new states sharing international boundaries, including Assam.

    As said by the Union Home Ministry, the decision of expansion in the jurisdiction of the BSF in the three states, that share borders with Bangladesh and Pakistan, was taken after the recent drone droppings of weapons from across the border.

    Earlier, no such limit has been prescribed for the five northeastern states of Meghalaya, Nagaland, Mizoram, Tripura and Manipur or the Union territories of J&K and Ladakh.

    Under Section 139 of the Border Security Force Act, 1968, the Centre can notify the area and extent of the border force’s operational mandate, from time to time.

    On Monday, the home ministry issued the latest notification, according to which the central government has revised the ‘Schedule’ specifying the border stretch where BSF would have powers of search, seizure and arrest under Acts like Passport Act, NDPS Act, Customs Act as well as Criminal Procedure Code (CrPC) to Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, and Meghalaya; UTs of J&K and Ladakh; and 50km-belt in Gujarat, Rajasthan, Punjab, Bengal and Assam.

    Punjab chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi has protested against the Centre’s decision and said that it is a direct attack on federalism.

    For more such stories, follow us on Facebook , Twitter . Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.

    Leave A Comment