• Rajya Sabha Polls: Voting Begins For 13 Seats Across 6 States

    The counting of votes will take place at 5 pm on the same day.

    The voting for Rajya Sabha elections began at 9 am and will continue till 4 pm. The elections are held for 13 seats across six states. Among the six states are Punjab with five seats, Kerala with three seats, Assam with two seats, and Himachal Pradesh, Nagaland, and Tripura with one seat each. 

    Elected members of the state assemblies will vote to elect members for the seats as per protocols, and the counting of votes will take place at 5 pm on the same day.

    It may be mentioned that the Rajya Sabha, which is the upper house of Parliament, is not subject to dissolution. A third of Members of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha from each State retire once in two years and polls are held to fill up the vacancies.

    Only elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies can vote in a Rajya Sabha election. A Rajya Sabha MP is elected for a period of six years by means of the single transferable vote, i.e electors can vote for any number of candidates in order of their preference.
    For more such stories, follow us on Facebook , Twitter . Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.

    Leave A Comment